Daines Announces Changes to Leadership, Communications Team

U.S. SENATE —U.S. Senator Steve Daines today announced changes to his leadership team and communications staff. 

Matt Lloyd will serve as Deputy Chief of Staff and Communications Director. Lloyd has more than 25 years of experience at the national and state levels of government in the executive and legislative branches as well as the private sector. He currently serves as Deputy Chief of Staff and Communications Director for U.S. Senator Rob Portman. Prior to his time with Senator Portman, he served in senior communications roles in the Trump administration at the U.S. Department of Justice, the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Previously, Lloyd served as Deputy Chief of Staff for then-Indiana Governor Mike Pence after serving as Pence’s Communications Director for almost his entire tenure in the U.S. House of Representatives. He will start with Senator Daines on January 3.

Daniel Gerig will serve as Legislative Director. Gerig has served on Team Daines since 2013. In recent years as Daines’ Senior Policy Advisor, Gerig has covered foreign affairs, trade and agriculture issues and has played a leading role in developing and passing Daines’ legislative priorities.

Rachel Dumke will serve as Deputy Communications Director. Dumke previously served as Deputy Press Secretary and most recently as Press Secretary and primary spokesman for Daines.

Gerig and Dumke assume their new roles immediately.

Blake Kernen continues to serve as Deputy Press Secretary, Mallory Walser as Digital Director, and Sam Wiesneth as Deputy Digital Specialist. Katie Schoettler remains as a Senior Advisor for Daines.

Daines previously announced that his current Deputy Chief of Staff, Darin Thacker, will become Chief of Staff in January.


Contact: Rachel DumkeBlake Kernen