Daines’ Bipartisan Bill Providing Reliable, Clean Drinking Water for Rural Montanans Signed into Law

U.S. SENATE—U.S. Senator Steve Daines announced his bipartisan “Clean Water for Rural Communities Act” has been signed into law. Daines’ bipartisan bill ensures thousands of Montanans have safe, reliable drinking water.

“Water is the most basic human necessity, yet every single day there are Montanans with undrinkable, contaminated water coming from their faucets. That’s why I’m very glad to see my bipartisan, commonsense bill signed into law which will ensure rural communities in Central and Eastern Montana have access to reliable, clean drinking water,” Daines said.

Daines’ bill advances two rural water system projects including the Musselshell-Judith Rural Water System in Central Montana and study’s the feasibility of constructing the Dry-Redwater Regional Water system in Eastern Montana.

Several key stakeholders applauded Daines efforts:

“Well, as promised Senator Daines has done the heavy lifting to get our Musselshell-Judith Rural Water System authorized after many years of effort. The CMRWA Board and the whole area are grateful to the Senator and his very capable staff.” – Monty Sealey, Project Administrator, Central Montana Regional Water Authority

“This federal authorization is a huge step toward our quality drinking water dream for those living without in Eastern Montana and McKenzie County, ND — one DRWA has been working toward for well more than a decade. We are grateful to Senator Daines for his work and are very excited for the opportunities ahead and look forward to a healthier way of life for our communities.” – Mandi Nay, Coordinator, Dry-Redwater Regional Water Authority

“Hearing about the DRWA authorization in late December 2020 was very exciting news. Finally residents in this area are closer to having quality drinking water in their faucets, rather than having to buy it in 5 gallon jugs at the grocery store.” – Dick Iversen, representing Richland County, Nancy Vaira and Tom Ruffatto, Board Members, Dry-Redwater Regional Water Authority