Border Patrol Extends Restrictions At Northern Ports Of Entry

Six ports of entry between Montana and Canada will continue to operate at reduced hours through July 21. Travel between the two countries is still restricted to essential only amid the new coronavirus pandemic.
U.S. Customs and Border Protection reached an agreement with Canada on June 16 to extend the ban on non-essential travel for another 30 days.

The limited hours of operation continue for ports of entry Raymond, Opheim, Morgan, Turner, Del Bonita, and Piegan in Montana and Porthill in Idaho.

CPB also announced the port of Wild Horse north of Havre will continue on its winter hours, seven days a week. The opening of the seasonal port of Chief Mountain between Glacier National Park and Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park has been delayed due to current travel restrictions.

Earlier this month, Senator Steve Daines sent a letter to the secretary of U.S. Health and Human Services and the acting secretary of Homeland Security, urging them to reconsider the ban travel restrictions because of the impact on agriculture, small business and tourism in Montana.