Daines, King Bill Passes Celebrating National Park Week

U.S. SENATE – U.S. Senators Steve Daines (R-MT) and Angus King (I-ME) today passed their bipartisan resolution to mark April 21 through April 29 as National Park Week. 

This resolution encourages people around the country and world to spend time in America’s treasured national parks. In honor of National Park Week, entrance into all national parks will be free on April 21.  

“Our national parks are an important part of the American experience,” said Daines. “Whether you are in Yellowstone or the North Cascades, I’m glad my colleagues joined me in encouraging folks to get out there and enjoy our nation’s treasures.”  

“National parks serve as a reminder of our most important promise: to always leave a better world for our children than the one we inherited,” said Senator King. “For more than a century, these protected lands have been passed from generation to generation, as each new age group takes on the hallowed responsibility to protect them for those who come next. These parks hold a special place in my heart, and in the hearts of countless Americans who’ve been fortunate enough to visit and experience some of the world’s most beautiful scenery. I hope that the people across the nation – from Acadia to Zion – will make the most of our greatest treasures this week by getting to your nearest National Park!”

The text of the resolution can be found here

To find your national park, click here

The resolution is also co-sponsored by Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Shelton Whitehouse (D-RI), Susan Collins (R-ME), Mark Warner (D-VA), Lamar Alexander (R-TN),  Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Jack Reed (D-RI), Cory Gardner (R-CO), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), John Barrasso (R-WY), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), John Boozman (R-AR), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Rob Portman (R-OH), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Bernie Sanders (D-VT), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Mike Enzi (R-WY).