KULR8: Montana high school students nominated for military academies

Rep. Ryan Zinke and Sen. Steve Daines collectively nominate 28 Montana high school students to attend America’s military service academies.

Four students were nominated in our area.

Ethan Peterson and Ryan Morgan were nominated from Big Timber. Maren Kirkland from Billings and Ryland Stampfel from Absarokee were also on the list.

In order to be accepted to one of the nation’s five service academies, high school applicants are required to earn nominations from their congressional delegation.

Nominees were selected after an extensive interview process conducted by each congressman. In addition to the nomination, applicants must also have an exemplary academic record and a strong resume of service and extracurricular activities to gain admission.