Daines Announces Montana Student U.S. Military Academy Nominations

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senator Steve Daines today announced his nominations of 19 Montana students who are applying for enrollment into U.S. military academies.

A congressional nomination is a critical step in the process for Montanans seeking admission to one of the nation’s four military academies: the U.S. Air Force Academy at Colorado Springs, the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis or the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point.

“It’s an honor and a privilege to nominate these outstanding young Montanans to compete for an appointment to one of our nation’s military academies,” Daines said. “I commend these hardworking students for their commitment to continuing Montana’s strong legacy of service and wish them the best as they continue in this extremely competitive process.”

Students interested in applying to a U.S. military academy submitted an extensive application that documents their academic, civic and athletic abilities, as well as their commitment to military service. An academy selection board assembled by Daines reviewed the applications and conducted interviews of the applicants. 

The following is a complete list of Daines’ 2015 academy nominations by county:

Cascade County:

  • Ashleigh Lehotsky, Great Falls – Air Force
  • Alliemarinda Phillips, Great Falls – Army

Gallatin County:

  • Lucas Figi, Bozeman – Navy, Army 

Lake County:

  • Nicholas Becker, Big Arm – Merchant Marine
  • Nathaniel Young, Polson – Air Force 

Lewis and Clark County:

  • Keller Balsam, Helena – Air Force, Navy, Army, Merchant Marine
  • Grace Berner, Helena – Air Force, Army
  • Robert McCarvel, Helena – Army, Navy 

Madison County:

  • Charles Buus, Ennis – Army

Missoula County:

  • Macey Newbary, Missoula – Army
  • Stephen Reynolds, Missoula – Air Force, Navy
  • Michael Sewell, Frenchtown – Army, Navy 

Pondera County:

  • Will Early, Conrad – Air Force

Ravalli County:

  • Caitlin Gillespie, Hamilton – Air Force, Navy
  • John Winters, Florence – Air Force, Navy, Merchant Marine 

Sweet Grass County:

  • Ryan Morgan, Big Timber – Air Force, Army

Yellowstone County:

  • Maren Kirkland, Billings – Air Force, Navy

Montana Active Duty Military Dependents:

  • Tyler Heath – Navy
  • Nathaniel Loos – Army, Navy