Daines, Tester and Juneau announce Montana students selected to participate in Senate Youth Program

(MONTANA) – Senators Steve Daines and Jon Tester and Superintendent of Public Instruction Denise Juneau today announced Missoula Loyal Sacred Heart High School students Ian Descamps and Rosemarie McCormack have been selected to serve as delegates to the 53rd annual United States Senate Youth Program.

The United States Senate Youth Program was created in 1962 to provide students from each state the opportunity to participate in a week-long study of the federal government and officials who lead it.  Running from March 7-14, students will have the opportunity to attend meetings and briefings with leaders in all three branches of government.

“It is an honor to congratulate Ian and Rosemarie, two incredibly hardworking Montana students, for their selection to this prestigious program,” Daines stated. “Ian and Rosemarie are both committed and talented students who will represent Montana with honor and distinction.”

“Ian and Rosemarie are outstanding students, tireless volunteers, and the future leaders of our state,” Tester said.  “It’s an honor to welcome them to Washington to represent Montana as delegates to the Senate Youth Program.”

Ian Deschamps is Senior Class President at Missoula Loyola Sacred Heart High School. Rosemarie McCormack is Junior Class Treasurer at Missoula Loyola Sacred Heart High School.

Juneau selected the delegates after they were nominated by teachers and principals.

“These talented students are already making a difference in their school and community,” said Juneau. “I have no doubt they will go on to do great things in the future and continue to be a positive representation of the remarkable young people who grow up in Montana.”

Chosen as alternates to United States Senate Youth Program from Montana were Linnea Madsen of Polson High School and Tess Gallagher Clancy of Hamilton High School.