Office of the Speaker



MONTANA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

The Honorable Steve Daines U.S. Senator 320 Hart Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Senator Steve Daines,

We write to you today to request that you and the rest of the Montana delegation introduce legislation similar to House Joint Resolution 9 (HJ 9), which was widely supported, and passed into law, by the Montana State Legislature in April of 2017 during the 65th Montana Legislature.

HJ 9 urges Congress to enact legislation that releases "all wilderness study areas (WSAs) identified and specified in the Montana Wilderness Study Act of 1977....unless Congress confirms a study area for inclusion in the National Wilderness Preservation System." In the interest of providing certainty to land management agencies and to ensure these public lands are maintained for the multiple benefits they provide the citizens of Montana, the Montana State Legislature widely supports releasing seven WSAs totaling 663,000 acres of National Forest System lands. Alternatively, Congress should confirm such an area be formally designated as Wilderness or any other alternative designation in a timely fashion.

The WSAs referenced in HJ 9 represent only seven of 44 designated WSAs in Montana. The Montana Wilderness Study Act of 1977 required the Secretary of Agriculture to review specified lands within five years to determine if their suitability warranted inclusion in the National Wilderness Preservation System, yet Congress has failed to determine the fate of these public lands 40 years later. With Montana's ownership and oversight split evenly between federal, state, and private, additional barriers due to an uncertain future designation only intensifies the complex challenges facing land managers. Congress can and should immediately address these barriers.

Additionally, HJ 9 states that Congress should "consider re-designating the WSAs as national recreation areas, national protection areas or national conservation areas" should traditional resource development, such as mineral development, timber harvest, or grazing be determined suitable for a particular landscape, making a certain level of protection appropriate. Such a determination simply should have been made in the last 40 years and it was not the intent of Congress to allow lands to sit in limbo without acting on a formal designation. Legislation signed into law that reflects the intent of HJ 9 will remove needless bureaucratic red tape on these lands. Moreover, future management plans resulting from a suitable determination will regulate permitted uses on the landscape as required by current law.

The Montana Legislature recognizes the different uses of our public lands. From resource production to motorized and non-motorized recreation to clean water and wildlife habitat, Montana's public lands provide multiple benefits to the diverse communities they serve.

Ensuring lands that are currently in WSA designation unnecessarily are removed, agencies will engage with the public in determining the future management of these areas, providing more opportunities for diverse use and the many benefits that Montanans expect from their public lands.

Thank you for your consideration of this request and we sincerely hope you will follow the bipartisan actions of the Montana State Legislature and support the conditional release of the Wilderness Study Areas on National Forest System land in Montana.

Sincerely,

Speaker Austin Knudsen

Supporting Members of the Montana House of Representatives:

Rep. Fred Anderson Rep. Becky Beard Rep. Bob Brown Rep. Mike Cuffe Rep. Ron Ehli Rep. Kelly Flynn Rep. Carl Glimm Rep. Steve Gunderson Rep. Greg Hertz Rep. Donald Jones Rep. Steve Lavin Rep. Forrest Mandeville Rep. Dale Mortensen Rep. Jimmy Patelis Rep. Matt Regier Rep. Walt Sales Rep. Derek Skees Rep. Brad Tschida Rep. Kirk Wagoner Rep. Kerry White

Rep. Nancy Ballance Rep. Seth Berglee Rep. Tom Burnett Rep. Geraldine Custer Rep. Jeff Essmann Rep. Wylie Galt Rep. Edward Greef Rep. Bradley Hamlett Rep. Adam Hertz Rep. Jon Knokey Rep. Dennis Lenz Rep. Theresa Manzella Rep. Mark Noland Rep. Gordon Pierson Rep. Vince Ricci Rep. Ray Shaw Rep. Scott Staffanson Rep. Barry Usher Rep. Peggy Webb Rep. Daniel Zolnikov

Rep. Dan Bartel Rep. Randy Brodehl Rep. Rob Cook Rep. Alan Doane Rep. Ross Fitzgerald Rep. Frank Garner Rep. Bruce Grubbs Rep. Bill Harris Rep. Kenneth Holmlund Rep. Casey Knudsen Rep. Denley Loge Rep. Wendy McKamey Rep. James O'Hara Rep. Alan Redfield Rep. Adam Rosendale Rep Lola Sheldon-Galloway Rep. Jeremy Trebas Rep. Sue Vinton Rep. Tom Welch

Supporting members of the Montana Senate:

Sen. Duane Ankney Sen. Edward Buttrey Sen. Steve Fitzpatrick Sen. Jedediah Hinkle Sen. Llew Jones Sen. Mike Lang Sen. Ryan Osmundson Sen. Scott Sales Sen. Cary Smith Sen. Chas Vincent Sen. Jeffery Welborn Sen. Mark Blasdel Sen. Pat Connell Sen. Terry Gauthier Sen. Brian Hoven Sen. Doug Kary Sen. Eric Moore Sen. Keith Regier Sen. Daniel Salomon Sen. Nels Swandal Sen. Gene Vuckovich Sen. Dee Brown Sen. Jennifer Fielder Sen. Steve Hinebauch Sen. David Howard Sen. Bob Keenan Sen. Albert Olszewski Sen. Tom Richmond Sen. Jason Small Sen. Gordon Vance Sen. Roger Webb